Irresistibly Yours by Lauren Layne – RAVE

The third time’s the charm for me and Lauren Layne, as this was my third read by this author, and it was easily my favourite. Irresistibly Yours truly was irresistible, and is definitely RAVE worthy. I couldn’t put this baby down! (Nor did I want to). The story felt custom made for my liking – sports based romance, friends to lovers storyline, and a couple I absolutely adored. Love, Love, Love.

This is the first book in a new series, which is a spin-off of the authors Sex, Love & Stiletto series – Books I have yet to read, but am eager to get my hands on. But let’s get back to this little beauty…

Irresistibly Yours

MLB-Stadium-Panorama-Photo-031

The Story

Freelance sports writer Cole Sharpe is up for an Editor position at Oxford; a magazine he’s been working with for years. With his history, his reputation, and due to the fact his best friends all work at Oxford, he figures he’s a shoe-in for the job. He didn’t count on having competition, and he definitely didn’t expect it to come in the form of an irritatingly likable woman named Penelope Pope.

cole

Through their shared love of sports, Penelope and Cole develop a strictly platonic friendship. But soon enough they decide to change things up a bit; they are colleagues during the week and sex buddies on the weekend. But there are rules of course. One in particular; NO falling in love.

Penelope

My Thoughts

I laughed my way through this story. There was very little angst, and the story was engaging without it. There was drama, but none of it was ridiculous, or eye-roll inducing. I couldn’t fault the writing, and the switching of POV’s flowed seamlessly.

Penelope was one of the most lovable characters I’ve read about in a long while. She was so sweet, genuine, and best of all – she wasn’t a cliché big breasted beauty. She was a woman in a man’s world, but she wasn’t butch. She was a sports loving girl who would rather watch a game of Baseball than go shopping. She had a bit of baggage, but her troubles were relatable. You could never accuse her of being a drama queen. She was awesome.

Cole was brilliant, and being inside his head as he fought the easy charms of Penelope had me sighing in delight. He was charming, thoughtful, and he wasn’t ruled by his dick. It was refreshing to read about a man who had been friend-zoned, and reading about his conflicted feelings for Penelope I found amusing. I was rooting for him!

The secondary characters were all great. The guys were so fun, and their interactions (and meddling) with Penelope and Cole gave me some of my favourite moments in the book. I have every intention of reading about the ladies of Stiletto, and their respective men ASAP. And when can I get my hands on Lincoln’s story?! I can’t wait.

Final Thoughts

If you’re a fan of this author or these themes, I would happily recommend this title. I can’t wait to get started on the authors Sex, Love & Stiletto series, and I am eagerly anticipating the next book in this series – A disgraced former football star who is secretly in love with his ex-wife’s sister? That has my name written all over it! Bring. It. On.

Release Date: October 6th 2015

Goodreads Rating: 4.25 Stars

Leave a Reply

