ShutterGirl by C.D. Reiss – RANT

It bums me out that my first book review on here is going to be a rant, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles… Luckily though, it isn’t a full on rant, because it wasn’t ALL bad. Hopefully the next one works out better!

ShutterGirl

flashing lights

The Story

ShutterGirl is the story of Michael and Laine. Two people that met as teens and formed an unlikely friendship. But eventually they grew up, lost contact and found themselves living their lives working on either side of the camera. And this is what happened after their lives crossed paths once again…

Laine

Laine had a rough childhood – growing up in the foster care system, getting passed from one foster family to another. She learned at a young age to never grow attached to anyone, as they would inevitably disappear from her life. But during her stay with one particularly well-off couple, at the age of fifteen, she is made to attend ‘Breakfront School’. She struggles with her classes and is treated as an outsider among the elite students, so to keep up her grades, she studies every day in the bleachers of the tennis courts… all alone, except for the company of a boy, practicing his serve.

Fast forward several years and Laine has turned her life around, after a few awful years spent in a dark abyss of bad decisions. She is now one of the most renown paparazzo’s in Hollywood. And it is on one fateful night while out on the job, she is finally reacquainted with the boy that used to be her friend, whom she has spent years taking pictures of (and lusting over). Suddenly Laine discovers what it’s like to be in front of the camera, and past mistakes are coming back to haunt her. Laine’s life is about to change all over again…

Michael

Michael, the son of two of Hollywood’s royalty, is a hugely successful actor and one of the biggest stars in the world. He is beautiful and talented, and possesses something few other young stars do – a level head! Michael is not your typical arrogant manwhore, and trouble is definitely NOT his middle name.

When he finds himself finally face-to-face with ShutterGirl, his old high school friend, his life slowly starts to spiral out of control. But he’s up for some fun is his stable life, and now that Laine is back in his company, he isn’t about to let her go…

My Thoughts

This story was on my TBR list for a while and I was more than eager to get my hands on it – especially after reading that synopsis. Unfortunately though, this book was not worth the anticipation.

On the positive side, I liked the writing style of this author, and having never read anything by her until now, I am keen to read other books in her catalogue. The characters were easy to envision, they were likable, and the troubles they had in their personal lives made for some good added drama. I also enjoyed reading about this part of the entertainment industry.

I felt there was too small of a build up between learning who the characters are, about their shared history, and when they finally spoke to one another again. And after they reconnected, things went from zero to one hundred so fast I just wasn’t feelin’ it. I did like that they were able to pick up where they left off, but what I didn’t like, was how much Laine’s life came to change because of Michael. She was a strong, independent woman that lost her job, her reputation and her privacy all in just a few nights and that was hard for me to accept.

When things started to get complicated, I felt the time they had spent together was too short for either to want to sacrifice their livelihood, so when things went south it probably did not have the desired effect on me. I thought it was the smart thing to do, and I felt no heartbreak. But I also thought, for a girl who was supposedly in love, she gave up on it awfully quickly. And he quickly went into depression mode, and made no valiant effort to win her back.

I guess my biggest gripe is that this couple had such a short period of time where they were actually together and happy, and that left me feeling a little ripped off. So while the story certainly kept me reading, I just wasn’t thrilled with the end result.

As I said, I will be back to read more by C.D. Reiss, but this is a one-time only read for me.

Goodreads Rating: 3 Stars

Leave a Reply

