Game of Thrones: Unbowed, Unbent, Unbroken – RANT

GOT: Season 5, Episode 6.

downloaddownload (1)

I am a HUGE fan of Game of Thrones, and luckily for me, I am not turned off by a bit of brutality.

After this weeks episode aired, I have come across several articles that are slamming the latest offering, which distresses me greatly. Not because people didn’t like it – to each their own – more because of why they didn’t like it.

I haven’t read the books, and I don’t claim to be an expert on GOT – I am simply, as stated, a HUGE fan. So here are my two cents worth…

Of all the things that have been screened on the show thus far, which include; Be-headings, incest, rape, whoring, torture, penis castrations, black magic, sex, cannibalism and killings of the most violent nature, I cannot understand why this week’s OFF-SCREEN sex scene has received so much backlash. People call it rape, and I guess that’s the most fitting word for it, but I feel I’ve seen worse before.

Did we not see the exact same thing way back in Season One, with Khal Drogo and Daenerys? In fact, those particular scenes were far more graphic, and were actually shown. Not to mention, that was way back at the beginning of the series, before we were exposed to how crazy, graphic and vicious the show was going to get. So now, five seasons on, you would think most of us would have become somewhat jaded by this type of scene. And lets not forget the most important point of all – it wasn’t real.

Perhaps it was because the victim on this occasion was the pretty young Sansa? I felt the scene was effective in the way it was shot. It wasn’t graphic, but the suggestion of what was happening, and of course what we could hear, portrayed what Sansa was experiencing without showing anything at all. And honestly, did people forget who she was marrying? Ramsay is one of the sickest characters in the series.

images (1)images

As far as the rest of the episode goes, I am happy we have finally had an Arya update! (Now the only Starks I’m left thinking about are young Bran and Rickon. What the heck is going on with the crow?!) Tyrion’s trek to Daeny just became a lot more complicated. The attempt by Jamie to retrieve Myrcella, and the subsequent fight with the Sand Snakes was… pathetic. Probably the least intense ‘fight’ of the series in my opinion.

To date, I am underwhelmed with Season 5 of the show. We are fast running out of episodes for the season, so I hope something major (NOT A MAJOR DEATH) is coming. I’m in desperate need of something memorable to happen. But seeing as it’s the most unpredictable show on TV, I have faith it will deliver.

2093

Leave a Reply

